StateoftheART Gallery Award 2018

We are delighted with the outcome and success of the inaugural StateoftheART Gallery Award in 2018.
The Award aims to champion contemporary art by emerging artists resident in South Africa, increasing exposure for their work, and encouraging further professional development opportunities.

Proudly announcing Cape Town based artist Jo Roets as the winner of the StateoftheART Gallery Award 2018. 

Read the press release here >>

At first glance Jo's delicate works could be mistaken for being made of paper - or leather - instead of the clay which is the artist's chosen medium.

Comments from the judges include "Although 'borrowed' or 'sampled' in a post modern fashion, this work stands out in originality and technical skill" and "I find Jo's work very interesting. It contains more than one meaning, and possibly several. It uses symbolic imagery and yet the artwork still works as a visually appealing creation".

Jo's intricate sculptural works can be viewed online here.

StateoftheART Gallery Award 2018 FINALISTS

After careful consideration of several hundred entries by artists from across South Africa, the judges shortlisted 10 artists working across a number of mediums including sculpture, painting and printmaking. The work of the shortlisted artists was shown in a special exhibition at StateoftheART’s Cape Town gallery from 06 – 22nd September 2018 for the final round of judging.

The winner was awarded a R10 000 cash prize and a solo exhibition with the gallery in May 2019.

Shortlisted artists:

Jo RoetsJanna PrinslooAnna-Carien GoosenNadine HansenLezanne KotzeAdele Van HeerdenAnina DeetlefsLebogang MabuselaTina TelesChloe Obermeyer.

StateoftheART launched the inaugural StateoftheART Gallery Award in February 2018, to unearth undiscovered talent by artists from around South Africa and provide a platform for artists to gain industry recognition and boost their career. Five respected judges involved in the art industry have selected the shortlist of 10 finalists whose work shows originality, a strong signature in South African context, and technical skill.

Members of the StateoftheART Gallery Award 2018 jury:

Mirjam Asmal,

director of the AVA;

Mandy Conidaris,

visual art consultant, art writer, and visual arts educator;

Carol Hodes,

curator and collector;

Masixole Ncevu,

award-winning artist and photographer;

Jennifer Reynolds,

founder of StateoftheART.